About Team Ag Ed

Team Ag Ed is a united effort in promoting local program success and includes the above organizations and groups

Agricultural science education is a systematic program of instruction available to students desiring to learn about the science, business, and technology of plant and animal production and/or about the environmental and natural resources systems. Agricultural science education first became a part of the public education system in 1917 when the U.S. Congress passed the Smith-Hughes Act. Today, over 800,000 students participate in formal agricultural science education instructional programs offered in grades seven-adult throughout the 50 states and three U. S. territories.

In Oregon seven programs are involved in Team Ag Ed that include; Oregon Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association, Oregon FFA, Oregon FFA Alumni, Oregon Department of Education, Oregon Community Colleges group, Collegiate FFA, and Oregon State University.

Currently Team Ag Ed is working on four essential areas of Agriculture Education to promote student opportunities for leadership development, personal growth, and career success. These areas include Program Marketing, Curriculum Development, Core Standards, and Communication.